The common app is used by prospective students who wish to apply to several colleges in the United States. When it comes to tertiary education, it is advised that aspirants send in applications to more than one school to increase their chances of admission.
However, it can be challenging to apply to different schools, especially when you have to send your application details to every one of them. The Common App solves the problem, allowing you to apply to as many colleges as possible with a single and one-time application.
Most colleges and universities in the United States ask the same questions and requirements for admission. Instead of filling in these details multiple times, you can save them on the Common App, which will be sent to whichever college you apply to.
However, at some point, you might no longer use the Common App. Then, you might want to delete it. Deleting your Common App account may sound so basic, but many people experience difficulties doing so. For that reason, I will show you how to delete a Common App account here.
How To Delete My Common App Account (Step-by-Step)
When the Common App was first introduced, there was no option to delete an account. However, after so many complaints and laments, they made a delete option available in the app. So, if you are having difficulty deleting your Common App account, follow this guide.
1. Log in to your account
The first thing is to log in and get back into your account. Since the app is usually on the phone, your password might be saved already, so you won’t need to enter it again. When you’re in, move on to the next step.
2. Go to “My Account”
On the app, there are several pages; locate the “My Account” page and select it. This page shows every information about your account and personal details.
3. Delete your account
To find the “delete account” option, you must scroll down to the bottom of the page. When you find it, tap on it. The app will ask for your password to execute the command. If you want to delete it, enter your password and proceed.
After that, your account will be deleted. You will be redirected to the “sign up” page upon deletion. If you wish to create a new account, you can use the option and enter the necessary registration details.
How do I delete a college from my list?
Instead of deleting your Common App account, you can use this option as an alternative. If you no longer wish to receive notifications and heads-ups from a particular college, you can easily remove it from your list instead of deleting your account.
Let me show you a step-by-step process to delete a college from your list instead of deleting your account. I can assure you that you will find this quite handy, mainly when applying to many schools.
1. Log in to your account
Before you can do anything on your account, you must be logged in first.
2. Proceed to “My Colleges”
On the top left corner of the homepage, you will find the “My Colleges” option; click it to see the list of all the colleges you have sent your applications to and which one is interested in your profile.
3. Find and remove the college
Look for the particular college you are no longer interested in on the list. Under each college, there is a “Remove This College” option. Once you find the college you are looking for, tap the option, and it will disappear.
However, you will be asked if you can remove it from your list. If you want to proceed, you should click the YES button, and it will be removed instantly.
Will I be able to access my application after deleting my account?
If you delete your Common App account, you cannot reaccess any applications. Also, you won’t be able to receive updates from any of the schools you have applied to. The only way to still receive updates is if you have sent your email address to the schools you applied to.
Can I get back after deleting my account?
Once you delete your Common App account, you delete every information stored on the database. The system will no longer have your details as soon as you press the “Confirm Delete” button. So, you must be sure before you proceed with this.
I’m still having problems deleting my account; what should I do?
After reading this guide, you should find it very easy and stress-free to delete your Common App account. Although very rare, some users still face difficulties with deleting their accounts. You will have to report the issue to customer support in such cases. With your consent, they’ll delete your account from their end.
Did you know that the Common App gets deleted automatically after some time? I bet you were not aware of that. Your Common App account only lasts till the admission season is over. The application season will last from autumn to the end of spring.
Almost all colleges in the United States take in students during this time. During summer, it is believed that all admission processes would have been completed; hence, your Common App account is deleted automatically during this time.
In addition, if you are deleting your Common App account, I recommend contacting the colleges you have applied to and letting them know you won’t be using the Common App any longer. You should also download and save a copy of your application from the account since you won’t have access to it again.